Law School

Juris Doctor (JD)


Further Information

  • askUWA, answers online anytime
  • JD FAWs


    The Juris Doctor is a three year postgraduate degree by coursework involving the completion of 24 units (8 per full time year) comprising a combination of compulsory and option units.  The UWA JD is highly regarded and readily recognised, both nationally and internationally. Successful completion of the JD will lead to accreditation as a lawyer.

    Why choose the Juris Doctor at UWA?

    The Juris Doctor provides a challenging and focussed environment for postgraduate studies in law.  Students enrolled in the JD are able to choose from a broad selection of law option units.

    Law graduates have a diverse range of career destinations including professional legal practice, academia, private consultancies or non-government organisations, the private sector including; banks and financial institutions, accountancy firms, large resource companies, state or federal government departments or instrumentalities and trade unions.

    Course Structure

    The JD is a three year full time course involving the completion of 17 core units and 7 option units.  Part time study is available and students have a maximum of 10 years to complete the course.  The JD may not be completed in less than 3 years of full time study.